Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Barber concept + sculpt

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
mavhn polycounter lvl 10
Hey guys long time polycount viewer first time poster. I really admire the quality of work and constructive feedback/support on these forums.

I've been tryin to learn zbrush so I made this concept of a cowboy barber to sculpt. My aims are to create a high quality concept/illustration and a high rez model using a sculpting package.

here is a rough of my initial concept. My initial idea was to make him a sort of hipster punk, with tattoos and piercings. But if you can see in my next image I made him more typically western.

barber_small_draft_by_mavhn-d793aaj.png

Spending some time during lunch breaks I coloured him up and ended up with this. Im pretty happy with it but I could keep working on this forever I keep finding so many things wrong with it. But thought I should just move on.

barber_concept_by_mavhn-d7ar6pw.jpg

As im new to zbrush the progress on the sculpt has been slow. I have some base work I will post up soon. If anyone has any thoughts they are much appreciated. Im keen to get feedback on the sculpts as thats what I'm struggling with most.

p.s Im leaving my job as a 2d/3d artist at a mobile game studio doing lowpoly work here in sydney and moving to "Sunny" Vancouver :). Ive been trying to update my portfolio, if anyone wants to have a look and offer some feedback that would be sweet. e.g website layout/shit work to throw out
www.markhenriksen.com

I don't really know what kind of work i want to move into, judging by my work I suppose I'm strongest at concept art and character modelling.

thanks in advanced duders

Replies

• tristanCarter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tristanCarter polycounter lvl 5