Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Daew's Rat - Blizzard Student Art Contest

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Daew polycounter lvl 9
Heya Polycount,
I've recently decided to make an entry for the blizzard student art contest, but before i start I'm going to drop some disclaimers lol

I am not very familiar with WOW apart from reading some lore and drooling over the art.
I don't live in the United States or Canada so I'll just be doing my own thing for fun and of course learning purposes.
And I'm still very new to modeling

With that said any feedback is most welcomed :)

Requirements:
Character or creature with some clothing/armour.
6000 polys
1024x1024 texture
contest can be found here:
http://us.blizzard.com/en-us/company/careers/university-relations/contest.html

My character is a an escaped lab rat. Due to experimentation he has grown to an abnormal size and gained increased physical attributes. He has a mutated ear that he cut off from his body and uses as a light source. He catches rats for money but unbeknownst to his employers he tames his brethren and keeps them on his person.

UPDATE

blizzRat_Daew_wip14b_zpsb2154663.jpg

And long post go!

daewRat_wep2_01_zps9d510aa8.jpg
BlizzRat_Daew_wip1_zps02643a71.jpg
BlizzRat_Daew_wip2_zpsb65727b3.jpg
daewRat_wep1_01_zpsddcc9c94.jpg

Wireframe:

BlizzRat_Daew_wip3_zps2b4947c9.jpg

And Questions!

Trying to understand deformation and triangles.

- Triangles/vertices and edges are added to keep the form as parts move?
In my case a middle loop is used to retain the elbow as the limb bends, the triangle with the two edges stops inward collapsing?
I'm guessing this is for low poly situations where I cant add anymore quads.
I found the triangle direction varies in different models even if the limbs bend the same way.

BlizzRat_Daew_wip5_zpse5f33b5c.jpg

Sorry for the long post! i'll try reduce em in the future

Replies

• Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator