Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need help - Hand painted textures

Choppz
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Choppz polycounter lvl 3
Hey guys

My first post here, and I've been struggling a little with handpainted textures and generally trying to get that stylised/lowpoly look. I started trying to make handpainted textures about 7 weeks ago and I have no drawing background what so ever, and whilst finding some really useful tutorials I still find myself struggling.

So a part of my year-long project I've been making some meshes and my most recent one is this mine cart.

I started on the wood texture, but the detail on the wood doesn't look right.. Haven't properly started the metal trim texture, not sure on how I should build the texture up.

EDIT: Would really appreciate it to get feedback on how to improve it (including geometry of the mesh). Referencing other people's work, annotations on the screenshots or tutorial links would be really helpful :)

Geometry

vmr2w1t.png

Replies

• Choppz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Choppz polycounter lvl 3
    Geometry with WIP texture:

SjdQecp.png
  • Choppz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Choppz polycounter lvl 3
  • Fashoomp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fashoomp polycounter lvl 10
    For the wood, the shapes aren't too bad, but the colour could use some tweaking. Using only what you provided, I changed some colours with gradient maps, curves, and levels.

g6ehYwH.jpg

As for metal, there's so many thing you could use for reference depending on how you want the metal to look. Look up rusted metal, brushed metal, shiny metal, and put together a sheet of what you want your metal to look like. It really helps if you start on it so people can give critique. You'll be surprised with what you can come up with on your own.
  • Choppz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Choppz polycounter lvl 3
    Thanks Fashoomp for the reply.