Home Technical Talk

3DS Max - Can't 'deselect' edges or verts

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
sheckee polycounter lvl 9
Hi guys, I am new to 3DS Max and am having to use it for my new job that starts next week. So I'm desperately trying to get myself as well versed with it as I can. I'm a proficient Maya user, and opted to tick on that magic 'maya mode' button in Preferences. It's great, it makes using Max a lot more fluent for me.

I noticed some issues though, one of them being that I can no longer shift and drag an edge to auto extrude it (Which is super handy, considering the extrude tool is rather rubbish, honestly).
So I went into the Hotkey preferences, into Mouse and unticked maya mode selection. Now I can shift drag edges and what not. But I face another problem, I can no longer deselect vertices or edges from my selection with Alt.

My question is this, does anyone know how I can operate Max in a Maya style way, without losing important functions? Or is it one or the other?

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    This will get back, Shift clone, extrude open edge.
    How to use the Maya Interaction Model in 3ds Max 2013 Without Losing the Shift Function - YouTube

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9jxZ5lLu2A"]How to use the Maya Interaction Model in 3ds Max 2013 Without Losing the Shift Function - YouTube[/ame]
    Ctrl becomes what shift does in maya and shift goes back to cloning and extruding.

The shift method won't ever extrude a closed edge or a polygon, it will just clone it. So you have to delete the poly, select the boarder and extrude it then cap it, or do half a dozen other crazy actions to pull off the same kind of thing. I like to call them the bullshit methods.

Personally I just use the extrude/bevel tools, bind them to keys, toggle on Keyboard Shortcut override if they don't work (toolbar, button that looks like a key with an up arrow on it).

This gets you around the deselect problem, kind of janky...