Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP's & Portfolio] Sanro's character art

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Sanro triangle
Hey Polycount, my name is Santiago Roldan and I'm aspiring to become a character artist. I'm on my 3rd year at university but my knowledge of 3D is 95% self taught.

This is my first proper character, which is based on the concept Resonance by Fred_Augris.

Still very much W.I.P:

Sci-ficharacterprogress_zps825fdb08.jpg

Sci-ficharactercloseup_zpse7971d91.jpg

Any critique is greatly welcome as I'm currently the only person really seeing my work, so rip it apart!

Thanks guys

Replies

• Sanro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sanro triangle
    A lot of time messing around trying to get the trousers (pants) & boots to look right and I'm pretty happy with the result - but it might just be because I've been looking at it for too long. Thought I would post a shot up before I go much further.

SciFiProgress_zpsa698f759.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and again any C&C welcome!
  • Sanro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sanro triangle
    Done for the weekend - I will probably start retopology and UVing this week if I have any time, and go back to detailing later on to give myself a break.

Pretty excited to see the progress in my first character, will have to see how the next steps go!

SciFiProgress_zps0249aec0.jpg
  • seth.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    seth. polycounter lvl 14
    For your first proper character its pretty good! Its deviating from the concept quite a bit so I wont crit there, but I do wonder what you are going to do with the dreads? Is the idea to low and bake a couple and then duplicate them around in the low poly?
  • Sanro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sanro triangle
    seth. wrote: »