Home Technical Talk

Help with Mudbox Displacement maps

Hi all,

I'm very new here and also to Mudbox (in fact this is my first attempt)and I seem to be having some problems with the displacement maps when transferred into 3DS Max. After i extracted the displacement map in Mudbox I tried to apply it using both the displace modifier and also in the material map slot. In both cases all I seem to get is a model that inflates rather than actually applying any detail. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong, normal maps seem to be behaving as expected but It would be great to find out whats up with the displacement.

Any help would be brilliant.

156akxd.jpg

Replies

• k@rt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    k@rt polycounter lvl 6
    I am far from an expert on displacement maps, but assuming (from your comments about the normalmap) that your Mudbox and Max model have identical and correctly defined uvw's - could this simply be a resoultion issue? My limited experience with displacement maps has led me to conclude that they don't work very well at all if the mesh you are applying them to is too low res. Unlike normalmaps, displacement maps can only effect the verticies that exist in the mesh already.... and if they are too far appart, or the detialling in the displacement doesnt match the vertex positions very well then all they do seem to do is "inflate" the model as you increase the strength.

Try subdividing your mesh 2-3 iterations and then reapplying the map, see if that helps. Maybe also the displacement map itself is too low res, in which case bake to a higher res...

Oh and one last thing, is it possible you clicked on "vector displacement" rather than just displacement? A simple but very easy mistake to make. Vector displacement maps would not work in a Max displacement modifier at all I expect!
  • MM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MM polycounter lvl 17
    sounds like you dont have enough iterations on turbo smooth for render.

google: