Home Dota 2

Importing .SMD for animation

Hey all,

I'm just starting out with dota2 modding, so please excuse any lack of knowledge. What I'm trying to do is create custom taunt animations for the existing dota 2 heroes. I have gone through a few tutorials on how to get started, but where I'm running into trouble is getting a fully functional skinned model into maya. I have decompiled the model files so I have the .mdls ready to be imported and the plugins ready to go. When I import the skeleton king .smd into maya, its just his body, when I try to import more, the initial body is gone and just the new piece is in its place. Another problem is when I try to import an animation, its just the skeleton. To start, I would like to just edit a pre done animation and export it to make sure I have the pipeline down. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Do you see any obvious steps im missing? FYI, I'm using maya 2012 x64 on a windows 7 machine. Thanks for any and all help!

Replies

• Spudnik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spudnik polycounter lvl 11
    http://www.dota2.com/workshop/requirements

Just import the FBX files or directly use the Maya files they provide :)
  • gingervitis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yea, I tried that, it works, but then I cant get the animations to load on that model. Thanks for the reply!
  • Spudnik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, can't load animations in Maya. But you can open the same .fbx files in Max and import the animation .smd using one of the importers. Then export the model as an .fbx with the animation now on the bones and import it back into Maya.

Also, I don't really know what you mean by "get the pipeline down" since there is no submission process for animations as of yet.
  • MdK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MdK polycounter lvl 9
    I've actually been wondering this myself, how did TVidotto post his taunt?
  • Spudnik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message