Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Demon

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Selaznog polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys, I'm not a character artist but I thought it would be fun to do one. I'd really like to get more intimate with zbrush so I'm going to make a demonic badass guy.

Painting a concept the other day and started modeling from it, but I decided to take it in a whole new fresh direction. Something hulking and heavier.

do_you_ever____by_julionicoletti-d6jr4da.png

So here's where I'm as so far.
xcadcasc_by_julionicoletti-d6k0qv6.png

I want to get a good blockin before zbrushing.

I'd love some advice and critique on the design and stuff!

Tomorrow I'll sketch out some head designs, or I'll just pick one of the ones I've already done: http://julionicoletti.deviantart.com/gallery/44406196

Thanks!

PS: also I'm hoping to learn more about anatomy by doing this. Got me some Burne Hogarth at the ready. So chaotic...but still believable anatomy.

Replies

• BradMyers82
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    Looks cool man. From a design standpoint I think he needs more in order to make him more interesting. I think adding some armor to him would go a long way. I suggest giving him one large shoulder pad on his right shoulder (opposite of that tentacle arm) to help balance him out more.
    Looks good so far, keep at it!
  • Selaznog
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the advice! Instead of armour I was thinking of just some big epic antlers or something, but I do like the armour idea. I think I'll sketch out some designs.

Here are some head designs I was playing with:
    a_bunch_of_jerks_by_julionicoletti-d6k53dy.png
  • Clark Coots
    Offline / Send Message
    Clark Coots polycounter lvl 12
    coool, really like your line quality in your head design sketches. designs look cool, don't know which i like the best.
  • Dan!
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6