Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Making a Husky Dog, need feedback please!

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Rooster128 polycounter lvl 8
I'm trying something I haven't done before- modeling a game model for a husky dog. I've not big with organics, and I'm finding it quite difficult to find enough anatomy pictures of dogs, let alone huskys. So I've been using a lot of reference shots and guestimating. I'm trying to build some 'bulk' in to account for the fur of the dog, but he's starting to feel like a cow or pig to me right now.

I'm still massing right now, and will worry about edge flow later. Mass is my primary concern. If anyone could point me in the right way- suggestions, tutorials, friendly advice, some criticism- it would be appreciated! Thanks guys!

Pictures:
husky1.jpg
husky2.jpg
husky3.jpg

Replies

• Dazz3r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dazz3r polycounter lvl 12
    I'm no expert and if I'm wrong I stand corrected but would it not be better to make one contiguous mesh instead of the legs being separate?
  • fifftyframes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fifftyframes polycounter lvl 9
    How odd. I just ran into a problem with texturing a dog where I have separate legs and body.
  • Rooster128
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You are correct, but as I said, I'm massing it out right now, and not so worried about edgeflow at the moment. I'll eventually have it flow as one mesh. :)
  • JellyBee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The general shape is looking good. My only comment is on the legs. Huskies have quite lean and sleek legs and the legs for you model are a tad on the chunky side when viewed from the front.
  • Rooster128
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I can see that. Do you think it's the entire leg, or just the forearms/lower legs?

Also, what about the head- do you notice anything off there? I know I don't have a nose in yet- I need to work that in.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options