Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Learning & Developing my first game

So, my name is Daniel, a 24yr old brazilian 3D Artist. I traveled to Vancouver Canada to learn 3D Animation on the Vancouver Film School, and finished the program about a year ago. Other than some freelance work, didn't had really much work experience in the area, but I always enjoy doing little projects to learn more and improve my skills.

As many here, I'm a gamer, and I love games. And recently one freelance job I got had me getting my animation into UDK for rendering. UDK impressed me with it's ease of use, in a few days I already could create matinee sequences and simple scenes.

As I studied more of it, I started creating simple levels on UDK for fun. I put some of these levels available online and people seemed to enjoy it so I started to wonder if I would be able to create a simple game myself with that engine.

And that's how my Unrealscript learning journey starts. I bought a copy of "Unreal Development Kit Game Programming with UnrealScript: Beginner's Guide" and on the second day reading I started trying to change the code taught there to do something different. Instead of a top-down camera decided to try and get a sidescroller camera working. As I started to find problems I stumbled upon Epic's UDK forum, with TONS of documentation, tutorials and helpful people. 3 days into learning I got the sidescroller camera, a simple melee attacking system and a melee enemy spawner.

8EvkMko.gif

At this point, I was decided to take this little learning project further and actually make some art and a completed level with a objective. I had my "main gameplay elements" working (even if a little bit clunky in this start =x) so I felt good enough to try and make some art for it.