Home General Discussion

Creating a reel from scratch, what wows employers?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
calen polycounter lvl 7
My background is in 3D, but i've mostly been acting as a media designer and would like to find an entry level job within San Francisco (notoriously hard as it is)

So my question is what is the freshest content that people who review demo reels/portfolios find interesting.
I assume Orcs, space marines and sci-fi corridors are done to death.
I guess my question isn't really what specific content i should make for a games reel but what kind of skills i should show off.
Seeing as i'm aiming for an entry level position i think i should cover my bases and work on Modelling, Texturing, character model/s, environment art and props and perhaps some concept art thrown in to show i can do that.

I wouldn't aim for a jam packed reel, but just do small examples to show that i'm capable of these skills.

I know Maya, zbrush, photoshop, marmoset and i plan to learn xnormal,ndo2 ddo and unreal engine (possibly unity too).

Thank you for your time!

Is there any tips any veterans or people in positions that hire could give me as pointers to craft a reel/portfolio that will dazzle and hopefully ensure a job position.

Replies

• easterislandnick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    easterislandnick polycounter lvl 17
    Don't make a reel. It will hinder getting you a job. I have reviewed over 100 candidates in the last month, each only got 30 seconds to attract a better look, a reel wont do that as I have to wait for it to buffer and load from a website and then skip through it to find some work.

Images are everything, nice artwork on page one and easy to navigate. Some people swear by one page that lists every project in one go, I find these take a while to load but they are efficient. If you have multiple pages make sure it's easy to navigate.