Home Technical Talk

Pixel Shaders?

JordanN
interpolator
Offline / Send Message
JordanN interpolator
I'm very new to 3D graphics so excuse my lack of knowledge.

So from what I understand, there does exist a technique that modifies each polygon's/sprite's colour at an individual pixel level. So in theory, it should be possible to tell a computer to colour each character/object as according to a concept art right?
Mve0Weh.jpg

However, I assume there are limitations right? For example, what if the camera rotates? Do you have to set up values for each possible position? Also, how performance heavy is it? Also, how do you know to use pixel shaders and not other rendering techniques?

For example, say I wanted to render this glass cup as close to the real thing as possible? Would you use pixel shaders, ray tracing, some kind of material shader, a whole combination of them or what?
BFXT9tO.jpg

Replies

• arrangemonk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arrangemonk polycounter lvl 15
    Hi

to make this more easy, please tell us what you know about 3d graphics, and what you want to do with it. because creating 3dmodels from concepts and rendering a realistic glass is are 2 very different things
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    I know shaders are associated with things such as normal maps which are RGB images saved from high polygon meshes. I've also rendered scenes before in a 3D programs but I didn't truly understand what I was doing (I did a Global Illumination pass with soft shadowing on a model of a Hourglass and it gave me options like how many times to sample the scene).