Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Wobyen

FINISHED PIECES

TFNVgJB.jpg

NZY07QI.jpg

XQ9jBGO.jpg

0IwKPCC.jpg

Skyrim Mod - http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fsteamcommunity.com%2Fsharedfiles%2Ffiledetails%2F%3Fid%3D152425458&h=iAQE6ID4M
3ikEi8T.jpg

Current WIP
lqmB1SD.jpg

Hi guys!

I am a freelance graphic designer/video editor/vfx artist who has worked in the games industry (QA) with hopes of becoming a CG artist.

Long story short, I've derived a lot of inspiration from the Portfolio wiki of this website and have decided to upload artwork here every Friday (minimum) for all the criticism and advice you folks are willing to give.

Feel free to be as harsh and honest as you want. I need the extra eyes! I am hoping this sketchbook will put some pressure on me to meet weekly deadlines.

I am completely new to baking normal maps and creating game assets, and am aiming to create a props focused portfolio aimed at the games industry. So the goal of each piece will be to be portfolio worthy. And the goal of the thread is to create so many assets I can choose the best in a few months.

I have only been modeling for a year or two and can finally see that I will get nowhere staying in hiding. So as scary as it is...here's a some of my past modeling work that I'm proud of!

Baron Von Fancy Bot
onL7H7U.jpg

Les Paul Guitar
YWRHw8z.jpg?

Firefly Inspired Pistol (was going to normal map it but I'm saving it for later when I actually know wtf I'm doing)
FpVL8si.jpg?

Grim Fandango Office
bBYKKoqh.jpg

Replies

• wobyen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So, I took a lot of inspiration from the props wiki here as well, and decided to start with something rather simple for the first normal map/low poly piece I'm doing. The video tutorials in there were great and centered around knives, so I am doing something similar for my first serious shot at this.