outside_back.jpg
outside_front.jpg
outside_full.jpg
props.jpg
props_other.jpgship_bell.jpg
ship_topside.jpg
ship_topside_wheel.jpg
Hey,

So... first post on Polycount, I'm a third year student from De Montfort University, currently working on my FMP. I am creating a turn of the century 18th-19th warship and a harbour environment. I'm using Cry Engine for the first time and so far I've worked solely on the ship. I'll be aiming to update my progression here. Any feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance :)

FMP_PROGRESS2.jpg
FMP_PROGRESS3.jpg
FMP_PROGRESS5.jpg
FMP_PROGRESS4.jpg

Replies

• Joost
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    Looks great!

The canons look more like they're made out of wood than metal though. Make the diffuse darker and the specular brighter.

Also the texel density seems to vary quite a bit. Mainly the poles in the last screenshot seem very low res. Try to keep it a bit more uniform.
  • theonebutcher
    Looks good so far!
    I agree with Komaokc regards the cannons, the material isnt reading very well at the moment. Look forward to seeing more progress on this! Good luck!
  • ausernottaken
    I'd go for a bit of a hammered metal look on the cannons.

Make the specular dark in the recesses.
  • magoga
  • kdm3d
    And here I thought I was the only one working on one of these. Some really good inspiration here! Thanks!
  • maxmead
    Thanks for the feedback guys, i agree completely with the cannons not looking right, i think i must have changed the glossiness at some point which made it seem too matte. I've gone back to the materials and had another pass as this was the first asset i produced for the scene.

It amazing how much fresh eye's help a project like this, the texture resolution needs to be improved as well i agree, i think i'll go over the mast texture and try to jig it so i can get more definition out of the texture.
    magoga wrote: »