Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[CE3] Fantasy Environment

R00
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
R00 polycounter lvl 12
Hey everyone,

Just thought id start a thread for a project I've been working on recently.I'm at a point now where I feel that this project is heading in the right direction. I'm creating a Medieval / Fantasy scene with the building as the focal point. I'm a big fan of Vigil (They will be missed) and Blizzards art style, so I set out to create a scene which incorporated both of these styles.

This is my first attempt at this style and I really want to push my artistic boundaries, so any advice is golden :)

My goals!

*Improve my knowledge and skills using Cryengine.
*Brush up on my Sculpting and texturing. (especially hand painted textures).

Where I am currently at:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJxHSHnrCjk"]CE3 Fantasy Building - YouTube[/ame]
Capture-48_zps0b1f2a82.jpg

Capture-48_zps22c2aed6.jpg

here are some reference images I've gathered.

reference_zps87ad9b38.jpg

Replies

• Harbinger
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Harbinger polycounter lvl 8
    Rotate that texture 180 degrees, it looks like it's lit from the bottom, which will conflict with your sun.
  • e-freak
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    what Harbinger said - or maybe even better - take the light information out of the texture and paint a heightmap instead, which you convert to a normal map (easier approach if you want to keep everything truly handpainted).
  • Fenyce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fenyce polycounter lvl 11
    There are to many straight lines, maybe you should break some of them up and give the silhouette a little more curvyness (since you mentioned you wanted to go into the virgil and blizzard style direction! Plus your refs do use curves as well)
  • R00
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    R00 polycounter lvl 12
    Updates!!