Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Queen Boudicca - A School Project

Hi there!

I'm a student at The Animation Workshop in Viborg, Denmark, and a long-time lurker of Polycount. Right now we are doing a biped project and our current lecturer has encouraged us to join a forum and start getting involved in the community, so here I am!

I've decided to make my own take on Queen Boudicca, who is a real historical figure that rampaged across England around 61AD, killing a whole bunch of Romans in the process. Most of the stuff on her portrays her in a dress despite her martial prowess, so I went a bit more crazy so I could do some anatomy.

bthQuO8.jpg

908KkPV.jpg

ktMRqvO.jpg

GMjOu2I.jpg

We've started on our 3D models today, and we have 2 weeks to get it all done.

My lecturer tells me I need to rough her up more (blood stains, dirt, etc.), give her a bigger spear and decide between buff woman or mother (basically tone down the musculature). I'll get to working on this soon. Any thoughts?

Good to finally be posting here!

Replies

• krisCrash
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    krisCrash polycounter lvl 9
    I like her buff mama essence, it's just the first drawing that you've really dug into the muscle creases and shaded them, maybe fade that a bit and use a big brush to shade the big shapes instead. I don't think having both muscle and motherly is a problem, especially because you did it realistically by giving her those working muscles bulking her torso instead of body builder muscles. But hey, opinions :) Love her attitude.
  • ElectroNugget
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Okay cool. I definitely want to stick with the anatomy but I can tone down the muscles and add a litte bit more fat I guess. :) Thanks!
  • ElectroNugget
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    We've started work on the model this week. So far I have a rudimentary body mesh and a head.