Home Contests & Challenges Archives

ESCAPE - Monsters - mtthwcmpbll

Hey folks, I'm just setting up my thread here to get things rolling. This is my first contest (and my first real interaction) here at polycount. I'm a programmer at my day job and like to play at making games as a hobby outside of work, but I don't have a lot of experience doing any of the stuff that people post here on a daily basis. That said though, I'm treating this as a long-form game jam where I can ignore all the gamey parts and get some experience on the things I never seem to get much time to do, like modeling and rigging and environments. I'm also hoping to get to play with shaders, lighting, and rendering effects if it's appropriate (if they're in-engine, do these break the "no postprocessing" rule?) We'll see how I do, but I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's work and getting inspired to sit down and make something.

I'm going to be noncommittal on my entry for the moment - it looks like a lot of folks are going more metaphorical with the theme and I'm having trouble settling on a picture in my head that I love. I'll post some sketches and concept art soon.

Replies

• tanakornxl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I having trouble setting on a picture in my head too. Maybe setting it simple will help. Looking forward to see your work. Good luck.
  • mtthwcmpbll
    Options
    Offline / Send Message