Author : chriszuko


Reply
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#1)
Website Download: Link
Dropbox Download: Link






Vimeo said it would get the HD working "later," so I posted the youtube as well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cDk8...ature=youtu.be




Last edited by jeremiah_bigley; 02-18-2013 at 09:04 PM..
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#2)
Big shout out to:
Juan Martinez (Monster)
Laurens Corjin (Xoliul)
Anubis
barigazy

These guys were super helpful and were nice enough to take time out of their day to break things down for me and help me with my problems throughout this script.

Thank you so much!
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

demilich's Avatar
Old (#3)
hell yea, im excited to use this man.
thanks for sharing and for your hard work!
Offline , spline, 138 Posts, Join Date Apr 2010, Location dallas,tx Send a message via AIM to demilich Send a message via Skype™ to demilich  
   Reply With Quote

boyluya's Avatar
Old (#4)
Cool, thanks! Definitely will try this out!
Offline , triangle, 350 Posts, Join Date Jun 2009, Location Philippines  
   Reply With Quote

Computron's Avatar
Old (#5)
I will have to try this out soon.

BTW, I like your quad menus. How did you get them to be colorful?
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,707 Posts, Join Date May 2011, Location Minnesota, USA  
   Reply With Quote

spetch's Avatar
Old (#6)
Looking forward to testing this,thanks alot
Artist ~ Nerve
portfolio
Offline , triangle, 297 Posts, Join Date Feb 2007, Location Dallas Send a message via ICQ to spetch Send a message via AIM to spetch Send a message via Yahoo to spetch  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#7)
Thanks guys! I hope everyone likes it!

Computron - it is in the customize user interface > color tab somewhere... I honestly couldn't tell you which one to change because when you do change it, it doesn't actually update until you restart max. Kinda frustrating but you have to go through and really just look for anything and everything and change the color, restart, and try again. lol
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

TrampledUnderFoot's Avatar
Old (#8)
Can't drag it onto a toolbar for some reason. I put it in the scripts folder since I don't have a macroscripts folder. Is that ok? Or should I just make one and put it in there?

Looks like a really great tool. Thanks!
Offline , spline, 112 Posts, Join Date Aug 2011, Location Portland, OR Send a message via Skype™ to TrampledUnderFoot  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#9)
C: \Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2012\UI\MacroScripts

or

C: \Users\jeremiahb\AppData\Local\Autodesk\3dsMax\201 2 - 64bit\enu\UI\usermacros
(this one is you YOUR user folder and the AppData Folder is hidden by default. You can unhide it in your folder options.)

However... if you drag it into the viewport from anywhere on your system it will actually create a copy and put it in the AppData folder and run it from there.

As for why it is not dragging onto a toolbar I am not sure because I don't have enough info. Did it give you an error? It there no "Bigley" Catagory? Or you can see it but it won't let you drag it onto the bar?
If you can see it in the list... make sure you are in the Toolbar Tab when you try and drag it into a toolbar and not in the keyboard tab.

Hope that helps
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

TrampledUnderFoot's Avatar
Old (#10)
I knew it had to be something on my end. :P

Got it figured out, thanks!

One question, any plans to add a OBJ normal map preset? Mainly for handplane and dDo use.
Offline , spline, 112 Posts, Join Date Aug 2011, Location Portland, OR Send a message via Skype™ to TrampledUnderFoot  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#11)
Haven't used either so I guess I don't know what you are talking about :/
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

TrampledUnderFoot's Avatar
Old (#12)
Sorry,

Handplane is a tangent space calculator/converter. Basically, feed it your low poly and an object space map and you can convert it into the correct tangent space map for your project/engine.

dDo is a sort of texture base generator that plugs into photoshop. Object space maps help with applying direction based details and such.
Offline , spline, 112 Posts, Join Date Aug 2011, Location Portland, OR Send a message via Skype™ to TrampledUnderFoot  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#13)
Oh! you meant an Object Space Normal Map Preset...
for some reason I thought you meant load in a lowpoly kinda like xnormal does. I read the OBJ as an OBJ file.

Is it really standard? I mean yeah these 2 new programs use it, but I would be curious as to how many are actually doing this on a good number of assets in a production pipeline.

If I do it is probably not going to be anytime soon :/ I need to get on some art.
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

Quack!'s Avatar
Old (#14)
Second the object space checkbox, I use it on the majority of assets I create now that handplane is out.

Great stuff, I am going to have to give this Mat ID workflow a go.
Nick Quackenbush, Star Trek Ship Artist @ Cryptic Studios ---- Linked In || Twitter || District 9 Mech
Offline , polygon, 688 Posts, Join Date Jul 2006, Location San Jose, California  
   Reply With Quote

tsabszy's Avatar
Old (#15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremiah_bigley View Post
Big shout out to:
Juan Martinez (Monster)
Laurens Corjin (Xoliul)
Anubis
barigazy

These guys were super helpful and were nice enough to take time out of their day to break things down for me and help me with my problems throughout this script.

Thank you so much!
great job on this one Bigley! will try it out and try spread it
btw, about the quad color changing, hitting "apply colors" doesn't work for changing your quad's colors? i couldn't find the place to change the colors of your quads in the colors tab, but for everything else, apply colors works for me just fine
Offline , spline, 202 Posts, Join Date Dec 2010, Location Budapest, Hungary Send a message via Skype™ to tsabszy  
   Reply With Quote

sebyyc's Avatar
Old (#16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsabszy View Post
great job on this one Bigley! will try it out and try spread it
btw, about the quad color changing, hitting "apply colors" doesn't work for changing your quad's colors? i couldn't find the place to change the colors of your quads in the colors tab, but for everything else, apply colors works for me just fine

Hey, about the colors...
.in Customize User Interface
...Colors tab
.....Elements: Roll-outs
.....Scheme: Custom Colors (make sure this is selected, or the changes you make in the elements will not take place)

Hope this helps
Offline , null, 19 Posts, Join Date Feb 2013, Location Montreal Send a message via Skype™ to sebyyc  
   Reply With Quote

Inhert's Avatar
Old (#17)
Is this only for Max 2012?
Offline , spline, 116 Posts, Join Date Jun 2011, Location Chicago, Illinois  
   Reply With Quote

A-Train's Avatar
Old (#18)
Bigley! Perfect timing Can't wait to try this out for my bake. Thanks!
Offline , triangle, 373 Posts, Join Date Sep 2008, Location Narnia  
   Reply With Quote

J0NNYquid's Avatar
Old (#19)
Just finished up the videos, this looks fantastic, I can't wait to try it out.
The answer is 42.

www.camraab3d.com
Offline , triangle, 490 Posts, Join Date Jun 2011, Location Champaign, IL  
   Reply With Quote

monster's Avatar
Old (#20)
Cool man! Makes me want to model something, so I can normal map something. Alas, I'm just a lazy animator.
Juan Martinez | coolRIG (coming soon) | Animator at Playful Corp.
Offline , polycounter, 1,200 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Dallas, TX USA Send a message via ICQ to monster Send a message via AIM to monster  
   Reply With Quote

rocneasta's Avatar
Old (#21)
Cheers Jeremiah, seems like a lot of sleepless nights went into creating this
Níor dhún Dia doras riamh nár oscail sé ceann eile

Offline , null, 17 Posts, Join Date Jan 2011, Location 25m2 flat Send a message via ICQ to rocneasta Send a message via MSN to rocneasta Send a message via Yahoo to rocneasta Send a message via Skype™ to rocneasta  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#22)
Quack! - hmm. Yeah I just might have to at some point in the future. There are still a couple more presets that I wanted to add so I will try and include it in that list. But right now I really want to start a model >.< been scripting for almost 3 months straight.

Inhert - I have tested it on max versions down to 2010 because that is what I had on my system. So officially I support 2010, 2011, 2012. I don't see any reason it wouldn't run on newer versions unless they removed any of the code I used. I don't know if it works on 2009 or lower. Just have to give it a try. Would be awesome if everyone could let me know though.

tsabszy - OH! I must have been tired when I read computron's question. I was thinking rollouts... not quads. There is an Advanced Options button under Customize User Interface > Quads Tab. I am an idiot. Sorry guys.
And yeah there is a button are a couple of color options that don't change whenever you change the color unless you restart max. I know for sure the color of buttons that are activated or "pushed in" is one. Took me forever to find it. Got to a point where I just made everything orange that sounded right and restarted.

monster - ha ha! You don't have to be so nice I know my code is pretty terrible! I have a long way to go to be able to script like you do man.

rocneasta - lol you have no idea.


And I am glad all you guys are excited! I really didn't know if anyone else would care to use this... because it is a bit of a strange workflow when you think about it.

Last edited by jeremiah_bigley; 02-19-2013 at 01:22 PM..
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

TrampledUnderFoot's Avatar
Old (#23)
I'm at work so I can't test it out right now, but do we have to name the highpoly parts the same way you do in the video? Or is there a way to change that in the script to pick up something like "piece_high," and pick the all of the objects with that suffix?
Offline , spline, 112 Posts, Join Date Aug 2011, Location Portland, OR Send a message via Skype™ to TrampledUnderFoot  
   Reply With Quote

jeremiah_bigley's Avatar
Old (#24)
yeah I think I should be able to spend one more week or so to do an update on the highpoly naming system. I would like it to hold the original name of the highpolys... and not rename them to "Highpoly_*" I will see if I can't get to it after my current project which will be wrapped up in a week.
Offline , polygon, 693 Posts, Join Date May 2009, Location Coral Springs, Florida Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiah_bigley  
   Reply With Quote

demilich's Avatar
Old (#25)
Hey Bigley,

I tried your script but I get this messages on the images.
I run the script, then when I select my lowpoly. I get the first message. Then when I deselect I get the second one.

Any ideas on what the problem is?

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg note_1.jpg (171.6 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg note_2.jpg (175.4 KB, 52 views)
Offline , spline, 138 Posts, Join Date Apr 2010, Location dallas,tx Send a message via AIM to demilich Send a message via Skype™ to demilich  
   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1998-2012 A. Risch