Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Mage! "My first character ever!" [Heavily WIP]

Hello fellas! Aight so i have started to work on my first character ever! I am also new to Zbrush so this is a pretty big project where i have to learn A LOT of new stuff. I hope you guys could give me some critique and tips for character creation! :)

The character i am working with are a sort of mage'ish female. I am thinking about doing a scene with her using UDK or CryENGINE 3.

Here i will upload the latest version of her head and body!
"UPDATED 2013-05-07"!
facecollage.jpg

This is the reference picture i use for the armor, otherwise i try to resemble the art style "Dishonored" is using.

The reference for the armor are made by the very talented Loish! "www.loish.net"
5_3.jpg

Replies

• praetus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus interpolator
    You say that you have alot of detail to go, but I think you need to step back and hammer out the basics of your mesh first. I realize it's more of a cartoon look for the basis but you're not matching the concept. The neck is really thick in comparison and the chin is pretty wide as well.

You seem to be stuck right now between what the concept is and what your minds eye is expecting to see. You've put some detail into the nose bridge but in the concept it is merely implied. It's fun to jump into new programs but I feel like you're getting carried away with the multitude of tools available and passing over the fundamentals you'll need to succeed.
  • Johan3043
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus wrote: »
    You say that you have alot of detail to go, but I think you need to step back and hammer out the basics of your mesh first. I realize it's more of a cartoon look for the basis but you're not matching the concept. The neck is really thick in comparison and the chin is pretty wide as well.