Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Salvage - Collaborative Game Project at Academy of Art University

Hi everyone,

I'm a fourth-year student at Academy of Art University, and an intern at Sledgehammer Games (I know some coworkers lurk around here!).

This upcoming semester, I am running a class where we will be prototyping and building a first-person multiplayer game using the Unreal Development Kit. The game is called Salvage.

salvage_title.jpg

Salvage is a hardcore, post-apocalyptic shooter set in a ruined near-future San Francisco. Two factions control the majority of the city - the Reclaimers and the Savages. The Reclaimers are a techno-fascist group, with the strong belief that technology will revitalize humanity, and that those that stand in the way of technological progress should be destroyed. On the other hand are the Savages, a band of hardened outcasts and misfits who simply want to eek out a simple life in the post-apocalyptic landscape. While the two factions have managed to coexist somewhat peacefully for more than a decade, a recent earthquake has disrupted the lives of both groups, and now they must fight over dwindling resources in order to survive.

We have ambitious goals, but I think we also have the most talented students in both the Game and Illustration departments working on the project. Over the coming weeks we'll release a steady stream of information and goals on this thread.

I'm creating this thread so that students from the class may share their work for critique and feedback. Not to kiss ass, but I think Polycount is home to the best digital artists I've ever seen, and I'd like for everyone in the project (myself included) to benefit from the wealth of knowledge you all have.

Q: What is the ultimate project goal?