Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK Jungle Environment Techniques and Level WIP

***UPDATED***
It's been ages but I decided to do a fly through and use this in my folio. Funny to see how much I have learnt since completing this:P Is my first time with camera fly throughs and compression so if there are crits, I'm listening:P

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsfYEiYDbJo"]UDK Jungle - YouTube[/ame]

yf8d.png
b2c5.png
4xn9.png

20/08/2012 -FIRST POST
Hi everyone. I've been working on a jungle level for a game I'm working on in UDK. I thought it would be a good idea to start a thread to share knowledge. I have a lot of questions regarding UDK as I am relatively new to it. The more searching I do the more clear it becomes that there isn't a lot of good natural environment tutorials out there. Foliage is a tough beast to master. I thought if I get this thread going, people could ask and answer questions, direct one another to good tutorials and share techniques related to everything involved with natural environment building in UDK. My goal is to update my level progress weekly as well as ask for and share knowledge. Feel free to ask and answer at will as I'm sure there is a bunch of valuable information we can share to make us all better artists. Cheers. Garth.

Replies

• gartht3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is the first screenshot of my jungle environment WIP. Please feel free to provide feedback as well as ask any questions related to natural environment building.
    p.s. the gray meshes are still inplace from my gray box to add depth and feel whilst placing finished meshes. Landscape hasn't been painted.

polycount208b.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
  • gartht3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    to get the ball hopefully rolling, I have a question. I am using height fog and it only shows when looking forward. When I turn around and face directly opposite to the above screenshot, the fog disappears. Anyone know why? Cheers.