Home Technical Talk

Wood Texture for Plank

Outline
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Outline polycounter lvl 4
Greetings fellow artists,

I have been working on a wood texture and I think it is coming along nicely. However, I feel like I am missing some details and not quite sure on how I should approach them. The circle was a key feature I wanted in my texture, but it does not seem to be tiling-friendly, so I might have to remove that. Anyways, any suggestions would be appreciated, thank you!

The texture:
WoodTexture.png

The reference image:
Photo0246.jpg

Replies

• JamesWild
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesWild polycounter lvl 8
    I'm not an artist (a million miles off) but I'd try a harder brush there.
  • MisterSande
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MisterSande polycounter lvl 8
    grooves and darker colors. As of now your image has too little contrast as a whole. Having local contrast is great but if you really want to get some detail and dept in this texture than I should add some grooves and pump up the contrast.
  • Outline
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    After 3 hours of working here is my texture. Added some more contrast and veins to produce that wood-lke feel to the texture. I may go in for a few more detailing and then try to make the texture tilad, which I'm still not too sure if this will tile friendly or not.

WoodTexture2.png
  • reverendK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    reverendK polycounter lvl 7
    harden up some edges and clean up some of the lines - especially the lightest/darkest ones. the jaggedness is too messy.
  • Outline
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I figured as much. I was thinking about maybe adding like a layer of lighter color by the edges to soften those. The dark colors seem to be getting washed out on the uploads, I'll try to fix those as well. In the mean time, this is an example of what the texture will be used for.

Render.png
  • joeriv
    Options