Home Unreal Engine

Normal maps in UDK

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Ryandec polycounter lvl 8
Hi im fairly new to polycount forums so first hello everyone:)

Im currently trying to put a rock I made into Udk with the normal map i extracted in mudbox but the normal map doesn't seem to show in udk whereas in mudbox the normal looks fine.. heres some screenshots of both.

rock_mudbox.jpg

here is my rock with normal map appiled to my low poly in mudbox

Rock_udk.jpg

and here it is in udk with the normal map.. it doesn't seem to make a difference

Replies

• JamesWild
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesWild polycounter lvl 8
    Please show:
    -your normal map
    -the material you have applied to the mesh.

Should be possible to figure it out from there.
  • Ryandec
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    well I acutally followed a Procedural rock tutorial in 3ds max

here http://saschahenrichs.blogspot.co.uk/2010/04/3dsmax-environment-modeling-2.html

The texture I have used in a tileable rock texture which i appiled in 3ds max and then painted some extra details in mudbox.

here is the texture and normal map..

normals
    rocknorms.png

texture
    rock_texture.png
  • JamesWild
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I only briefly flicked through that but I don't see them making a material in UDK at any point. If you've never worked with UDK before, make a new material in your package (right click in browser->new material) and drag your textures into the window that opens. Link them up to the diffuse and normal slots and close the material editor. Then, with your material selected in the browser hit the green <- arrow where it says material under LODInfo.