Home General Discussion

Modo v.s. Maya

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Valliant polycounter lvl 4
Hey all, I'm going to be graduating and seeking a professional position in the games industry soon, and my student licenses for all my Autodesk products will expire within the next year. I have a couple of questions regarding which 3D modelling program would be more cost effective to pursue a professional license for in the long run.

Maya is my program of choice and I've been looking at pricing for it recently - it's steep for someone like me who's just starting out, especially when you have to re-buy the license every time a new release is out. The annual subscription fee is obscene and I don't feel like Maya LTE would meet my needs, so that option is out too.

I have never used MODO before, but I've been hearing good things about it and its price is a lot more affordable. What I understand from the website is that you just pay an annual maintenance fee for patches and other tech issues, and don't have to re-buy the actual program again. I also noticed a graduate pricing deal which looks promising for me. However I don't hear much about MODO being used in a game development pipeline (beyond it being used for BL2).

If anyone has any advice about how to proceed I would really appreciate it. :)

Replies

• Zack Maxwell
    Offline / Send Message
    Zack Maxwell interpolator
    Autodesk has actually moved over to what sounds like pretty much the same system; you pay the upfront cost, then you pay a maintenance fee to get access to support and regular updates to the program. The caveat is that you can only subscribe when buying the software, so while if you decide to cancel your subscription you will be able to keep the latest version you currently have, you would have to completely re-buy the program (at full price) in order to re-subscribe and get a newer version later.