Home Technical Talk

Help a maya newbie plz!

Ged
interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Ged interpolator
Im doing my best to learn maya at work and Ive hit some walls. I really didnt want to do this but I would like to use this thread to ask my questions rather than litter polycount with random issues.

First thing to note is that I have been reading a lot of the other threads on here asking for maya help etc so Im not being lazy about this I just want to be specific.

my major issues:

1. scaling or moving multiple objects: how do you do this in maya? I use the scale or move by "manip" pivot and that helps but then the objects get there axis pivots all messed up. I heard you can group and ungroup but that would slow my workflow down as Im often working with a lot of objects in a scene.

2. selecting objects to edit: I have a lot of objects so when I try to edit the faces on one particular object I ctrl-rmb over the object I want and choose face mode from the marker menu but I almost always select an object that is in front or behind the object by mistake. Then when Im finally editing the object I want I go to select some faces and maya often changes object to one of the other objects in front or behind! Cant I tell maya to lock my editing to the currently selected object?? I dont want to hide or lock my other objects Im not editing I just want them to automatically lock when I start editing verts/faces/edges so that I cant select them by mistake.

3. Im puzzeled by the outliner, what can I do with it? why doesnt it dock? can I make stuff template or reference like the layers window?

Replies

• Bal
    Offline / Send Message
    Bal polycounter lvl 17