Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Roman soldier head (WIP)

Here is some work in progress. Im pretty new to sculpting, usually i make my base model in 3ds max and then add a few details in mudbox. This time im trying to learn sculpting from ground up entirely in mudbox. This is probably 2 hours of work, im not realy using reference material (although i probably should). Some feedback is welcome. I will update this thread as i progress.
dgqi4n.png

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    I'm sure you can see this, but the mesh seems lumpy, primarily since it's all one mesh.

I want to tell you right now, it's totally fine to have seperate meshes intersecting and floating on top of each other. The head can be separate from the helmet, can be separate from the plume, can be separate from the eyes, etc.

If you want, and to make it look way better, go back in and make separate meshes.

And use reference materials, real and game ones. I recommend looking into Ryse for game character art reference for Roman Soldiers.
  • Xenocide
    I'm sure you can see this, but the mesh seems lumpy, primarily since it's all one mesh.

I want to tell you right now, it's totally fine to have seperate meshes intersecting and floating on top of each other. The head can be separate from the helment, can be separate from the plume, can be separate from the eyes, etc.

If you want, and to make it look way better, go back in and make separate meshes.

And use reference materials, real and game ones. I recommend looking into Ryse for game character art reference for Roman Soldiers.

Alright thanks. Ill follow up on that advice!
  • GrungyStudios
    Offline / Send Message
    GrungyStudios polycounter lvl 8
    JoshuaG wrote: »
    Got a Potato Jesus vibe going on here
    PotatoJesus5214b0bd5b5f8t.jpg

Lmaooooooo
  • Xenocide