Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Texture Critique/Help Needed

Hi all, coming fresh off of GDC and recommendations and encouragement from Josh Singh and others I have decided to post some of my stuff. I really need help on texture critiques and really making my props pop! Thanks in advance. Also I apologize if the images are to big I am still new to this.
m24polycount.jpg
barrelwebsitepolycount.jpg

Replies

• JBelay
    Hey,
    Some quick comments

first image: It is not exactly clear what the function of this asset is in the fiction of the world. Try to think of what the object's purpose is, so that each of its design choices support its function. The texturing should also match this assets purpose in the world. Think about why paint would be worn in certain areas and not others. Here is a good read about hard surface texturing. Be careful not to over do the wear and tear.

http://www.game-artist.net/forums/spotlight-articles/42-tutorial-hard-surface-texture-painting.html

Grenade: Apply the same texturing logic to this object. Also I would try to make the wooden handle look more like wood. It is not quite reading as wood.

Barrel: Push the lights and darks in your texture. Also watch your uvs the metal strips around the barrel are half metal texture half wood texture. Does the barrel have a top? What happens if it is viewed from a higher angle?

Hope this helps some, keep at it!
  • strobelite
    I think if there's one thing I could recommend, it would be to push color and value variation in your textures. Even solid colored things can have color variation like warmer lights and cooler shadows. I can see that you're adding some wear and tear to the first two props and that's great! Here's another good link for textures: http://www.cgsociety.org/index.php/CGSFeatures/CGSFeatureSpecial/the_top_ten_tips_of_texturing