Home Digital Sketchbooks

5heepman's Digital Sketchbook

vertex
Offline / Send Message
5heepman vertex
Howdy howdy howdy!

I'm just getting into digital sculpture, hoping to refine my hand to a point where I can enter the videogame industry as a 3D modeler (although my ultimate goal is to work independently). Unfortunately, I'm a 3rd year college student and only now realizing the sheer depth of what I still need to uncover.

My background is more in the fine arts, so my perspective is a little different. I'm also doing some 3D scanning work - I'll be sure to explain what is what for each image.

Anyway, I could use advice on basically everything - workflow, presentation, modeling, rendering, compositing, retopology, texturing, so if you've got something to say, please say it.

Replies

• 5heepman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    5heepman vertex
    if8sf5Z.png

aYrIYqD.png

3D sculpt in Mudbox. Rendered in Blender (cycles).
  • 5heepman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    5heepman vertex
    gxqtugq.png

SYaTNfY.png

• 5heepman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    5heepman vertex
    Vv8ITwT.png

NncaUkW.png

• pmiller001
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pmiller001 greentooth
    Hey pal! nice stuff!
    as for your question about advice, it all depends on what you're trying to make. I think the most important part is to think ahead on what you're about to make. Is this going to be for a game? whats my target poly count? etc etc.
    Keep posting though I'm looking forward to your stuff.
    PS: I'm also from Dallas! you should go to the Local drinkups for the IDGA and meet some people
  • 5heepman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    5heepman vertex
    Danke!