Home General Discussion

Guide to keeping 3D artists happy?

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Beestonian polycounter lvl 9
G'day poly count. I've lurked here for a little while and it's time to post a thread to get the ball rolling.

I'm a 2D artist, illustrator border-lining a designer roll. I will be working in a project group heavily over the next few months and I haven't had much of the pipeline experience that I'd like, so I'd love to know a little bit more from you 3D people on how to do my Job properly :)

So as a 2D artist there are certain things that I've noticed are easy ways to make a 3D artist hate you. For example, Painting indicative details rather than clearly illustrated line work makes lives difficult because the purpose of orthographic art/concept work is clarity for the modelers. Because clarity is key and ambiguity doesn't help anyone.

I know the best way is to practice the work of people next in the pipeline to you to know what kind of information makes your job easy/difficult, and I've done a little bit of that, again not as much as I'd like. Nonetheless, are there people here who've had any experience with illustrators/designers who perhaps don't understand the needs of the modelers/technical artists, and what are some common pitfalls that you've run into on our end that might make you want to strangle us? How do we avoid them? All advice welcome :)

Replies

• ChaosEidolon
    Offline / Send Message
    ChaosEidolon polycounter lvl 17
    High five for even posting this! Yeeeah! A concept artist that cares *tear*

1. Make your orthos line up!!! If you make an ortho of a concept and the details don't line up it actually harms the 3d artist's process more than it helps. It depends on how closely they are expected to match the concept, but if it's precise, and things don't line up, he's better off trashing the orthos you spent all that time on. Sad for you and for them.
  • Ace-Angel
    Offline / Send Message