Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A Greenhorn (me) looking to start his portfolio

Hi there everyone ! First time here and I have to say I'm a little bit overwhelmed by the stuff you guys and gals do :)
Up until now I've only dwelled in modding for C&C Renegade (late Westwood's only FPS in the franchise) and decided I wouldn't want all this experience to go to waste but instead capitalize it, refine it and maybe break into the industry some day (that's practically the same reason I started studying Games Design at uni).

Alas, I have piled up a couple of renders throughout these past ... 4-5 years, most of them work in progress shots (simple renders usually) and I thought maybe I could sort them out and polish the best of them so I can lay the foundations for my portfolio.

In-game rendered stuff :

Allied Barracks, Pillboxes and other random bits made for a Renegade2 mod :
barracks.jpg

Load screen for the Alpha version of the same mod :
load-screen.jpg

Random village buildings for a Dune-inspired Renegade mod :
Village2.PNG

Max-rendered game assets :

Civilian building featured in the loadscreen map :
buildone_1.jpg

buildone_side2.jpg

buildone_side1.jpg

Soviet Spyplane :
spyplane02.jpg

Same model, wireframe :
spyplane-w.jpg

Previous Dune assets, demonstrating modularity :
arks_building3b.jpg

Ideas for Harkonnen-themed slums housing :
module.jpg

Variations of the same modular housing unit :
neighbourhood.jpg

Generic high-rise apartment complex (another idea for Harknonnen civilian buildings) :
building.jpg

Public Propaganda Telescreen, back view with human reference :
telescreen2.jpg

Misc stuff (not done for any game in particular) :

"Space bar" render (my first attempt at doing a animation, stoped working on it until I learn how to properly optimize render times) :
spacebar.png

Animation sequence from the same project as the space bar (never got too far due to long rendering times - most likely my fault) :
http://youtu.be/EDzQNIOL6wk