Home General Discussion

Student portfolio - What is expected?

Hi, i'm a student getting started on a portfolio to get an internship in my last year of college next year, but i have some questions about that.
What is expected from a student to show in their portfolio? How many pieces, what kind of quality, 1 subject or more?
for example, if i am focusing on 3D characters but also have a good quality weapon or vehicle, should i put it in there or just the characters?

thanks in advance,
Joe

Replies

• LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    Focus on Quality over Quantity, Every time. At this stage, a quality weapon or vehicle might not be a bad idea.

Remember, 1 "Amazing" piece is better than 10 "ok" pieces.
  • slosh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character
    Quantity is not as important if you're a student but quality should be close to industry professional. I know this sounds crazy to some people just getting through school but with the market so saturated with talent, you have to stand out. The only way to get noticed is to produce high quality work. So, gather some inspiration and try to hit that quality with every piece you do. Granted you might not know as much about pipeline and tip and tricks to do stuff fast but you still need to get close. Good luck!
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    I'm almost done college in a few months and so I'm following this.
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/PortfolioContents

Since you want to be a character artist, do this.
    • Ability to nail archetypes: tough man, attractive woman, badass monster, well-worn robot.
    • Strong understanding of anatomy, organic proportions, biological structure.
    • Low-poly edge-loop modeling, clean modeling, good edge flow, how to make good joints that can deform well.
    • High-poly sub-division surface modeling, clean surface shading, good edge flow.