Home Technical Talk

Learning Programming for beginnners

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
melviso polycounter lvl 10
After a lot of thought, I am thinking of trying my hands on learning programming. I am wondering if this is something that is going to be hard if u go the self taught route.
What has inspired me to do this is after seeing and reading about the work of Milo yip, the guy who was responsible for the hair and cloth simulation of Alice Madness. I am guessing he is obviously very good at what he does. Those simulations run smoothly even with crappy cpus.

I am mainly interested in programming for hair and cloth simulations as well as vfx such as smoke, fire, rain e.t.c especially in realtime circumstances.

I have realized most ppl who are very good in animation, effects or simulations usually know how to write a script or program. If u can do these things yourself, u can do anything. This is something i wish to learn on the side, might be very useful later.

Does anyone know of any good sites or pdfs I can start reading right away? I have already started on some max scripting. don't know if its the right one or is it java?Any recommendations will be really appreciated.

Thanks.

Replies

• RN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RN sublime tool
    It's a cumulative process, and you need to start small with realistic expectations.
    At first, you learn a simple language and make simple but polished projects with it.

If I had to start over, I'd begin with this: https://love2d.org
    It uses Lua (a scripting language also used in several commercial games) and you can make 2D games with it. The goal here is to use the friendly environment it provides to learn logic and programming practices.

If you're not satisfied with Love2D, take a look at Processing: https://processing.org
    You can make some serious visual effects experiments with this.
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I like Python. Many VFX apps support it.