polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Andy H polycounter lvl 8
*Update 2*
AndyHTreeFinal.jpg

*Update*
ArchwayFinal2.jpg
(See post 13)

Hello Polycount! Very long time lurker here that has finally decided to post something! Currently I'm a student in college working towards my Game Design degree, leaning towards the art side of things. I'll be finishing summer 2012 and hopefully have some kind of job opportunity lined up by then (hopefully... :poly121:).

One of my teachers informed me of the student contest that Blizzard is doing at the moment, so I said I'd go ahead and work on a piece. I'm a huge fan of World of Warcraft and its style. I have some favorite artists right here from Polycount that are apart of the Blizzard team, and it's my absolute dream to work there!

Anyways, let's get down to business shall we? For my piece, it kind of gradually came to me as I did some concept drawings. I knew I wanted to do something Nagrand like (if you're familiar with some of the zones in WoW). I also wanted to make something that also had some Emerald Dream influences.

The concept drawings:

BlizzProj01.jpg
This tree helped me kind of figure out what I wanted to do with everything else in the scene. Nagrand has really awesome almost surreal like trees, and if you have the World of Warcraft Art Book for The Burning Crusade, you can see some of the tree ideas that they played with for that expansion. I want the tree to be a large centerpiece that will go behind the archway.

BlizzProj02.jpg
Nagrand also has floating pieces of earth that look like they were sort of ripped from the ground as they gradually flew up to the sky. I wanted to have this look as well for the surface that the archway and all the other props would go on. I also have some ideas for adding some more Warcraft elements to the surface, such as smaller floating islands that are attached to the main center piece by chains.

BlizzProj03.jpg