Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Need help with environment

Josef R
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Josef R polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys, struggling with environments, and I'm pretty new to it. Could use a lot of tips.

Making a rocky desert area on an Earth-like alien planet. It's still very early, but not sure where to go from here. I need to make some more assets and textures and populate the scene more, but not sure if I'm currently even headed in the right direction. May need to scrap everything and start fresh on the drawing board, don't know.

Chunk_1_SS1_zpse2b5sfce.png

Replies

• Ryandec
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryandec polycounter lvl 8
    I think what you have has given you a nice mood to start with. The next step you need to ask yourself is what u want the environment to be about, is it going to be just a desert on its own? do humans or any creatures inhabit it? if so did they already live there or for example are they astronauts? if they where a group of astronauts on an expedition then you could add a facility for example, maybe being partly built or fully built? I'm sure you can google like mars concept art or something like that to help out, not sure if that helps but good luck with it!
  • onera
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The sky gives weird feeling, even if it's not planned yet, it just messes up the mood. All rocky desert environments have clear bright sky.

Because it looks almost like misty, not desert sand, but high humidity, which is very unlikely for that type of scene.

My recommend is to put a bright blue sky if you want to focus it later, but just to have that, bring in the skylight and capture a little blue colour. After that in the post process reduce the contrast a little and bring the vivids a little, that way you'll have more visibility and keep the colors, suitable for clear weather common for that type of scene.