Home Unreal Engine

Concrete Wall [C&C Needed]

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Tetranome polycounter lvl 6
Hey! So I'm fairly new to PBR, and I'm sort of struggling to get my materials to fully take advantage of it.

Here's an aged concrete block wall I made yesterday:

a9a583884f.jpg

297a5007f7.jpg

The end result is alright, but it isn't top tier work. Can anyone see any big mistakes I'm making? C&C much appreciated :)

Thanks Polycount!

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Yes. Its the "specular map". You need a metalness map, but since its entirely non metal, you can plug a constant1 (0) to the metalness slot, and you should pull out your specular map. Its not needed at all. The specular parameter in unreal4 is for the specularity of the non metal surfaces. If I remember right, then the default spec value is 0,5 and you should not change it. Maybe the green channel of your normalmap is also inverted but I couldn't tell with this lighting.

In ue4, the metalness map determines the amount of reflectivity.
  • Tetranome
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ahh I had no idea Specularity was irrelevant now. I've checked out the normal map, it seems fine - but I'll probably increase the strength to make the borders between bricks more intense.

On the note of specularity, does that mean I now put highlights in my roughness/gloss?

Thanks for your help :)
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Basically yes but you should not add random "highlights". They should be added only with reason. I mean you should not add "edge highlighting" or anything like this. Just think on it, there are no "edge highlights" in the real life, its not more or less reflecvity or glossy at the edges, just if there are damages or anything that changes the nature of the surface.