Home Technical Talk

SpritePlane: a sprite sheet generator script for Photoshop

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
mediochrea polycounter lvl 10
Greetings, Polycount! Yesterday I finished my first somewhat serious piece of software.

It's a little script that converts this: c2MEB.gif into this: FDHsu.png

The resulting sprite sheets are ready for use in many game engines, such as FlashPunk, an amazing framework for Flash that we are using for our game. I was pretty tired of having to make them by hand, so I decided to automate the process. Mind you, I'm more of an artist than a programmer, and this is my first time releasing to public, but you'll see that the script came out pretty good. I'm also planning on developing it even further, to add features and improve usability.

You can grab it (as well as a detailed readme) here: https://github.com/mediochrea/SpritePlane

I do hope it makes someone's life easier! Critique and suggestions are very welcome. :)

Replies

• Next
    Offline / Send Message
    Next polycounter lvl 12
    ohh maan this is so awesome ! i luv it!
    i always wanted a nice and simple solution inside photoshop for this kind of tasks.
    thank u very very much for sharing this with the community!!

cheers next
  • mediochrea
    Offline / Send Message
    Next wrote: »
    ohh maan this is so awesome ! i luv it!
    i always wanted a nice and simple solution inside photoshop for this kind of tasks.
    thank u very very much for sharing this with the community!!

cheers next
    Thanks man! I'm glad that someone finds it useful!
  • SirCalalot
    Offline / Send Message
    SirCalalot polycounter lvl 10
    This is brilliant!
  • mediochrea
    Offline / Send Message
    SirCalalot wrote: »
    This is brilliant!
    Thank you! Share your experience if you decide to check it out! :)
  • Dexmac