Home Technical Talk

Getting "next gen" weapons to look good when facing away from the light

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Racer445 polycounter lvl 12
On the few "next gen" type weapons I have created, all of them look fairly decent when in the light which brings out the specular map I created. When not in the light, however, the weapons look very flat, stony, and the materials read entirely different from when it had heavy specular lighting on it.

I studied various weapons from modern games, such as COD4, and noticed that the weapons look good even when not in the light. After looking at the diffuse maps however, I noticed that there was a lot of painted on lighting.

Being from the CS customization scene I used to paint all my lighting by hand on the diffuse map. When I began doing "next gen" items I was told not to paint any on at all. Currently I only bake AO maps and apply them to my diffuse and specular maps. I have tried to bake a small amount of ambient lighting using a ground plane, skylight, and light tracer, but with mediocre results.

So being that no diffuse lighting often creates a flat looking weapon when not under heavy lighting, and lots of diffuse lighting can mess up your dynamic lighting, I'm guessing some sort of hybrid method is best? Your thoughts on this subject?

Replies

• hyrumark
    Offline / Send Message
    hyrumark polycounter lvl 12
    I notice that in a lot of games that take place mostly in darkly lit areas, like Doom or the Condemned series, where all sources of light are from the engine, that the diffuse maps have zero painted in lighting. Since 99% of the time the weapon is either going to be "lit" or in total darkness.

But other games that take place in brighter outdoor settings, like Half Life or Dark Messiah, the diffuse maps have much more painted in lighting, and really only use the normal/spec maps for some gritty surface detail.

So maybe it just depends on the type of game and setting?
  • MoP