Home Technical Talk

Crazy normals!

zombie420
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
zombie420 polycounter lvl 10
WpmR1.jpg

I have a pretty simple shape I'm working with but the normals are just not cooperating.

1) Turning off "double sided" in Maya reveals that the normals are reversed.

2) Displaying face normals reveals that the normals appear to be facing the correct direction?

3) The cage created is mangled like crazy. I assume that even if I manually fix it, it will give me undesired results.

This is a new problem to me. How do I fix this?

Replies

• tristamus
    Offline / Send Message
    tristamus polycounter lvl 9
    Wow, quite a mess. Since it doesn't look like you were too far along as it is, so I'd just start over.

As far as what the problem could be, yes, reversed normals. For the cage? No idea.
  • Next
    Offline / Send Message
    Next polycounter lvl 12
    export import it as obj. should do the job... as i am no maya pro i dont know what could cause this...
  • poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    Reset/freeze transforms. This usually comes from negative scale as far as i can work out. Whether its user error or maya being a tit i couldn't say but i get a lot of models like this given to me by our maya modellers and end up having to fix them in max.
  • Bal
    Offline / Send Message
    Bal polycounter lvl 17
    Also check in the Attribute Editor, under Render Stats, that the "Opposite" checkbox isn't checked (as poopipe mentions, this happens when you do a negative scale, then freeze the tranforms). If it is, you might to uncheck Double Sided to uncheck it (you can then recheck Double Sided... so silly).
  • gilesruscoe
    Offline / Send Message
    gilesruscoe polycounter lvl 10