Home Unreal Engine

Help with desaturated textures in materials, urgent

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
drysider polycounter lvl 9
Hey all! I'm new to unreal, working on my final student project, and I've hit a really frustrating block with my textures and materials.

I'm doing a low poly hand painted project, and all my materials that I import are automatically checked with sRGB. This makes them incredibly washed out and desaturated, really ruins the highlights and the shadows. Thanks to post processing they don't look too bad when the scene is built, but I'd really like to fix it since some of my foliage objects don't look as good as they could.

So yeah, the weird problem. I uncheck the sRGB option in my textures, and in the texture preview they look nice and bright and saturated. Then, I open the material for the object to check how they look now.

Here is what happens with all the materials that I have:

DXdMhiZ.png

You can see that in the texture preview in the bottom left that the texture is nice and bright with strong shadows. Fantastic, that's how it's supposed to look! But when it's applied into the material space..... it shows REALLY washed out again (look at how grey it is in comparison!). On the actual object (a bush in this case) the textures are still washed out.

Can somebody help me fix this! I'm fairly new to unreal and don't know much about materials, I just get by from trying things out, so if you could make it as simple to understand and fix as possible I would be forever in your debt. My project is due in a couple of days and it would be great if I could get my foliage looking the way it's SUPPOSED to look rather than faking it with post processing.

Replies

• Ramseus
    Offline / Send Message
    Ramseus polycounter lvl 13
    drysider wrote: »