Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Rift: Storm Legion; A Practice in Marmoset

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
polaroid29 polycounter lvl 6
Hi all, this is a character I modeled way back in 2013. Found the concept online somewhere and it belongs to Trion, but couldn't find the concept artist's name anywhere. Wanted to learn the game-res process better so this is my first attempt at seeing it the full way through.

Concept here:

NVYzcnV.jpg

Decimated high poly render:

trNKRdT.jpg

Real-time Marmoset Viewer with all the game-res goodies:

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/rift-storm-legion-fan-art

It's split into multiple UV sets for (from what I understand gives me) optimal texture resolution. 2048 for everything.
One UV tile for:
Head,
Body,
Metals,
Leathers,
Extras (horns, teeth)

Approximately 34k tris for the entire character, the rest for the decimated weapon that I got lazy on.

Sculpting in ZBrush/Maya,
Retopo in Topogun,
UV work in Unfold3d/Maya,
Texturing in ZBrush/Ddo/Photoshop,
Rendering in Marmoset

Would really love any comments or critiques, since it's my first time going through the full process. :poly139:

Replies

• polaroid29
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What're typical things I should be showing, in my portfolio? I have a high poly render, and marmoset viewer which shows all of the maps and topo. Should I include separate renders showing the topology also? And the UV maps?
  • polaroid29
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here are my color/uv maps for each set:

Head:
    cM68Hdo.jpg

Body:
    5PecSdr.jpg

Metals:
    ZnySqAE.jpg

Leather:
    aTp9goW.jpg

Rocks&Teeth:
    AqQCkJr.jpg
  • polaroid29
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Marmoset render:

TUruIDk.jpg
  • polaroid29
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I should've made a sci-fi corridor instead :P

Here's some topology

ErDJM3K.png
  • heyeye
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heyeye polycounter lvl 6
    polaroid29 wrote: »