Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Elmore Ridge - Hand-painted Environment

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
toxic_h2o polycounter lvl 8
Hello everyone and welcome, :)

My name is Nick, I am about to finish up my last year at school. I have tons of loans to pay for an art degree that means nothing. I want to work at Blizzard, My professors say I'm wasting my potential and that I'll never work there. I'm determined to prove them wrong.

So lets begin shall we?

- The Goal -

Create a hand painted environment that is visually stunning, technically strong, portrays a dreary mood, shadows Blizzards art style, and provokes a story.

Also

Create a thread that helps explain the entire process of creating an environment start to finish. I am far from a pro, but maybe some people new to environment art will find it useful and learn from my mistakes.

So Polycount please correct me when I'm wrong, give me suggestions, critiques, anything to improve the final product and the thread.

So lets begin for real this time.

- Creating a Successful Environment -

Before I begin I want to show a little diagram of things to remember that make an environment successful. Remember art should be the hook to get people interested and always support the gameplay. Good practice is crucial, remember to miter those edges, keeps those bevels for baking loose, and snap to the grid when possible.
win_01.jpg

- Personal Objectives for the Project -

Get your goals together all artists should have them. Tell yourself what you want to get/achieve out the project. The more you realize what you want, the more you can focus and put in action to achieving those things.

For me I want to,

-Impress Blizzard (is that possible?)
-Show potential
-Awesome Portfolio piece
-Get better at concept art
-Improve at hand painting textures
-Improve work flow
-Increase speed
-Artistic vision where everything works as a whole
-Color, composition, lighting, etc.

- Concept and Research -