Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Knight model - Zbrush

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
MasterBeard polycounter lvl 7
Hello guys.
Here is my new try to make a knight.
I would love if you could give me some advice to how to improve this model. Im new in Zbrush and concept modeling so i know little.
So if you be so kind :)
thanks
4d9ca92088201.5569b7c4aecb7.jpg

Replies

• felicitousArtisan
    I think more than the sculpt, which seems pretty competent for an early attempt (though I'm not sure this would be an easy one to retop for games), the character design is the issue here.
    The armour doesn't really have a cohesive look in terms of culture and technology, and also doesn't really make sense in how it stays on and moves. While some divergence from realistic armour design is fine in Fantasy work, there are some things where you have to make a little effort to make the armour look functional. Example, those shoes. The shape suggests metal but they're formed from a single piece, so there's no way for his foot to bend. Many parts of the armour are mysteriously floating in place, attached to nothing. I strongly recommend looking at real armour (plenty of reference online) so you have some idea of its construction. You can only get away with a lack of obvious construction if it's clear that you're working with a high-magic setting and the whole armour is styled consistently (say like the armour of Kain and Cecil in Final Fantasy IV, which features flowing shapes and few obvious seams or fastenings more like a sci-fi tokusatsu character's armour)