Home General Discussion

do you ever feel like you wont catch up?

Hey all,
do any of you 3d artists ever feel like you wont "catch up" to the skill level other artists have?
I have been modeling for almost 4 years and I feel as if my skills have only grown so/so.

Do you ever feel like how I have felt these last few months, that I am just not growing or capable of growing as a 3d modeler?

I have been modeling mostly hard surface stuff but after all this practice it seems as if my stuff will never sit in the same ballpark as alot of the guys here on polycount.

I want to be a 3d artist at a game studio but I feel as if Im just not getting something right..
I guess Im looking for some inspiration.
I have completed the famous millenia's weapon creation tutorial and mine didnt come out remotely close to his.

Replies

• Kwramm
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    Consider that many people on polycount are professionals with quite some practice under their belts. Also, the attitude of getting to "pro" level and then joining a studio is nonsense.

There's no "pro" level that you suddenly reach, and after that you're done. As artist you have to continuously work on your skills, and at some point while working on your skills you'll be good enough to get your first studio job. And even there you have to consider that one studio's most awesome artists may be considered just junior by another studio's standards.

I remember my art sucked, but I got better, kept applying, and eventually someone gave me a job based on my folio. Even though I didn't quite feel ready then.

With that in mind, I'd say keep practicing, know your strengths. And based on your strengths aim for an entry job that lies within your reach. Just because your first job ain't at Blizzard <insert other big studios here> doesn't mean you may not have a chance to get there in time. Especially given that you will learn soooooooooo much on your first real job :)
  • Torch