Home Unity

Simple Unity Distance Problem

Voltage3000
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Voltage3000 polycounter lvl 6
Hi guys. I'm a Unity noob, and a general coding noob, but I'm trying to jump into it. I'm trying to make this top down strategy game where you can switch between units and move with the arrow keys and mouse. The issue I'm running into is that when the player runs into the mouse it starts flipping around, which makes sense. I'm trying to fix it by stoping it from turning when the cursor gets too close to the character. The problem is both sqrMagnitude and Vector3.distance don't seem to be acting the way I expect them to. If the character isn't moving the distance doesn't change and it's calculated incorrectly when I do move the character.

I've got a video of what happens here. The distance is what is getting printed in the console in the corner supposedly
https://vimeo.com/108958660

and this is the code I was using. The script is how I control all the characters
public class rb_controller2 : MonoBehaviour {

private Animator anim;							// a reference to the animator on the character
	public float MoveSpeed;
	//public float acc;
	Rigidbody rb;
	public Plane playerPlane;
	public Ray ray;
	string player = "a";
	public GameObject clicker;
	public GameObject playerA;
	public GameObject playerB;
	public GameObject playerC;
	GameObject active_player;

// Use this for initialization
	void Start () {
		active_player = playerA;
		anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
		rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody>();
		//freezes rotation along these axis in general, but not due to physics
		rb.constraints = RigidbodyConstraints.FreezeRotationX;
		rb.constraints = RigidbodyConstraints.FreezeRotationZ;
		//freezes rotation due to physics
		rb.freezeRotation = true;
	}

// Update is called once per frame
	void Update () {
		if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Alpha1)){
			player = "a";
			active_player = playerA;

}
		if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Alpha2)){
			player = "b";