Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Rik

Rik
As I recreate my portfolio with an emphasis on texture and material creation, I've started learning more techniques than I used in the past. When I graduated, I had only worked with UVW Mappaing and Photoshop for texture creation. I'm working on an animated short with some folks from school and so I've now started using Max's procedural texturing system to see what kind of look I can achieve.

I'd appreciate any sort of critique, comment, or carefully crafted question you've got.

Replies

• Rik
    The following are the final renders for a model that was given to me to work on as part of our final Material and Lighting project. I was responsible for creating a unique texture for each of the rear legs.

Shaders and materials created in 3ds max 2012
    Bitmaps and masks created Adobe Photoshop CS3
    Rendered with mental ray in 3ds max 2012

Shaders are built utilizing the mental ray Arch&Design material. Instead of using UVW Unwraps and painting texture maps for each piece, UV mapping coordinates were assigned and adjusted for each part to achieve the desired end look. Specific patterns were applied with masks created in Photoshop and placed to allow the scratches and wear to show through the orange paint coat.

Specific dirt patterns were painted on using Vertex Paint channels, and Blend Materials on select components.

Concept by Andez Gaston
    Model by Pete Hayes

GreyShade.jpg
    perspL2.jpg
    perspR2.jpg
    perspBack.jpg
    perspTop2.jpg
    perspTop1.jpg
  • Rik
    I've decided to go back and rework a model I started quite a while ago. I'm aiming for a photo realistic look with the final renders, and so I'll use a combination of photograph textures and customized shaders.