Home General Discussion

Typography I'm lost

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
cookedpeanut polycounter lvl 12
So I'm creating a portfolio on Cargo and I'd like to create a header image that incorporates my name. It'd be nice to have a logo version as well that I could use on my images, however I can't think what to do.

This is my first attempt, granted it's nothing special:
Header_Small_W.png

I just don't like how bland it looks and I have no idea where to start developing any ideas.

So my question is this, how do you guys develop typographic names and/or logos, do you use elements from other people's work or do you create things from scratch?

I'd just like some inspiration or advice to get me going...

Thanks chaps

Replies

• Shiniku
    Offline / Send Message
    Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
    To be honest I always prefer the logos that are simply the person's name typed out in a specific (simple, professional looking) font. Maybe throw in an underline or something if you're feeling crazy
  • RobeOmega
    Offline / Send Message
    RobeOmega polycounter lvl 10
    +1 To Shinku's post
  • Muzzoid
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Number 1 rule with typography. Don't change fonts or styles arbitrarily.

It is hurting my brain seeing both images in different styles and at different perspectives. You have to think of the whole logo as one cohesive piece.
  • moose
    Offline / Send Message
    moose polycount sponsor
    What Muzz said.

I think if you went with the style of "STIPPEL" for your entire name, it'd be good. It is simple, classy, and it has a message about you. Mixing serif and sans serif can be risky, but I think it can be pulled off here so long as the serif face is in wireframe like you have it/stylized, and everything else is sans.
  • Equanim
    Offline / Send Message
    Equanim polycounter lvl 11