Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-fi Sick Bay UDK

LATEST:

sickbay01.jpg
sickbay02.jpg
sickbay04.jpg

Howdy, this is my first Polycount thread, I'm pretty stoked to be here!

This is a scene I created a little while ago, and have revisited once or twice as a sort of practice area. I was an environment artist for a while, but for the past couple years my focus has shifted toward lighting. I decided to revisit this scene one last time, with a focus on getting the materials and lighting to a good place.

This scene is intended to tell a simple story, with a bit of an eerie suspense/horror feel. Basically someone has been rushed in here with a major injury, moved to the surgical table, but was unable to be saved. I'm imagining this location is on a water-based vessel(carrier or submarine), so there's plenty of drainage and such to deal with flooding, venting for air circulation, and the wiring is in thick protective coating.

These images are grabbed straight from the UDK viewport, sans post-processing, and the lightmaps are only rendered at medium quality.

WUy1lglh.jpg
BAVnP53h.jpg
JuYmfCXh.jpg
oLQ8ezoh.jpg

Any critique on the materials/textures and lighting will be greatly appreciated. Any other critique is welcome as well, but I plan to focus on the surfacing and lighting primarily.

Thanks!

Replies

• Muzzoid
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Nice man this is cool.

Material wise i'd say a lot of the materials are too matte?
  • Add3r
    Offline / Send Message
    Add3r polycounter lvl 11