Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A Portfolio Goal to GDC

Hello. I do most of my posting on CG Society but since I am thinking about going to GDC in 2015, Polycount seemed like the better place to get some feedback.

I have been doing 3D now for roughly 5 years with a focus on modelling. I am mostly self learned I did go to an Art Institute for 2 years before running out of money.

Anyway I am just throwing up a huge collection of my works and projects I am working on currently to see what the public opinion would be in making a Portfolio for such an event as the GDC.

You know something along the lines of 4-5 pieces that might be worth a dam. Most of what I have is only base models. But I do plan on doing more with them especially in preparations. The models are all between 10,000 - 20,000 Tri's.

But mostly I'm having artist doubt I guess. Am I going in the right direction. Do I actually have stuff worth while. Is it even worth my time/money to go to the GDC with what I got?

I will start with my newest going to the oldest. Remember some are still works in process.

A Basilisk I am currently working on.
I2YBzcq.jpgHvopLRl.jpgf3Zb5Gx.jpgoLqq5wZ.jpgolbwBby.jpgSFifkPs.jpg7O6llut.jpg8aO6P9p.jpg

A Character I am working on.

z30Ed2K.jpg

Another Head
GXeg9Yr.jpghiibaIG.jpg

Replies

• Eternity
  • harry1511
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    harry1511 polycounter lvl 5
    First of all, it seems your edge loops are a bit messy, tidy up those loops more. Make sure you have loops around joints, avoid putting "stars" too close to those areas. Since GDC is all about video games industry, try to have some low-res models as well (less than 2000 tris) to show off your skills when managing tris count and proper edge loops.

Your dragon is too dense on the wing area, IMO. You animal models generally are lacking of structure and anatomy, they are not defined well. Check the proportion as well.