Home General Discussion

Ways to improve the industry?

paco
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
paco polycounter lvl 3
Right off the bat let me say I'm not an artist, and it's likely I never will be. I do however love computer graphics, and I regularly browse this site and others marveling at the amazing work you guys manage to produce. I also see how hard it is to make a living in the industry, despite amazing talent and hard work.

To me it seems that there MUST be a way that people that can produce an image / asset / whatever, that can take peoples breath away can surely do better than the current industry situation?

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    paco, for specifity, what specific problem would you like to solve?
  • passerby
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    Its supply and demand. Most cities average pay is around 70k so not terrible.
  • paco
    Offline / Send Message
    paco polycounter lvl 3
    It seems to me that there are a lot of people with excellent skills - that post on this website for instance. From what I can see the main way to make a living is to try and get hired by a studio, and with all the layoffs and closures, and horror stories about having to relocate often it doesn't seem like that's all roses.

I'm just wondering if there is some other structure that people with talent like that can use to make a living. Here are some examples of what I was thinking of:

* Submit a picture you've created to a website, you get a percentage of revenue if people view/ like it.

* Sell assets (already happening, does it work?)

* Produce tutorials that others pay to watch.

* Maybe some sort of benefactor system where people that like the art can donate to help support the artist.