Home Unreal Engine

Blueprint Vs Actual Code

SuperSparkplug
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
SuperSparkplug polycounter lvl 9
Hi there,

I'm a student working on an academic game project. I have experience with and can read code, but it is not my strong suit, but I am mainly an artist and designer so I need some programmers. While I have done this kind of development before, I was helped by friends who graciously donated their time for a relatively low fee. Now that they're busy, I'm going to need to hire a programmer at some point that I may not be able to afford at the moment so I've been looking into alternatives or ways to cut my costs.

I have experience and know how to use Unity and have been for several years, however I recently gained access to a educational 1 year license for Unreal Engine 4. I would like to use it since I have it, however apparently it runs on C++, a language I've never used.

I did, however, hear about the Blueprint system in UE4 and from what little I've seen of it so far, it seems to be like a more visual way to code, in the vein of programs like Pure Data, MaxMSP, and animation blend trees. I haven't had the chance to really look into Blueprint lately, so I would to ask those with more experience: How much does Blueprint function in relation to actual code and how much can it compensate?

I am willing to learn a bit of C++ to do this if necessary, but again, it's not my strength and while I have several months to work on this, it will severely hamper me to learn an entire language I doubt I will fully understand. I really don't have time for that considering I'm doing the rest of the development process myself. I would prefer it if somehow the Blueprint function would compensate for my lack of coding abilities but I don't know if it does.

Please let me know how Blueprint and actual programming relate.

Replies

• paco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    paco polycounter lvl 3